Interpreter's Corner

Image may contain: Terry Irish

Interpreter's Corner Latest Posts

  • Question on free throw spots during COVID On free throws, can the one or 2 offensive players on the lane occupy only the two blocks near the defense or can they move up to the open blocks ...
    Posted Jan 29, 2021, 7:32 AM by Terry Irish
  • 2020 Refresher test & answers I moved the refresher test & answers to the Members Only section.Terryterryirish12@gmail.com
    Posted Dec 13, 2020, 10:44 AM by Terry Irish
  • 2020 Refresher Test Good afternoon,I hope that everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving celebration. The next Board 175 meeting will be via Zoom on Sunday, Dec 13th at 9:00am. Nick will be sending ...
    Posted Nov 29, 2020, 11:47 AM by Terry Irish
  • Teaser questions Q1. B-5 fouls A-1, who is awarded two free throws. It’s B-5’s fifth foul. The official tells the timer to sound a 15-second warning ...
    Posted Nov 24, 2020, 11:28 AM by Terry Irish
  • Teaser questions Let's see who was paying attention at the Interpretation meeting yesterday!Q1. With 2:33 remaining in the 4th quarter, the coach of Team A is assessed a ...
    Posted Nov 16, 2020, 7:06 AM by Terry Irish
Showing posts 1 - 5 of 86. View more »

Question on free throw spots during COVID

posted Jan 29, 2021, 7:32 AM by Terry Irish


On free throws, can the one or 2 offensive players on the lane occupy only the two blocks near the defense or can they move up to the open blocks near the shooter?
Also is the rule just for COVID or the same for next year?

Here is the MIAA rule for free throws during COVID:


Free Throw Situations o To limit congestion and contact, free throw lanes will be limited to four players. o On two/three shot fouls, free throw lanes will remain empty and players can only enter lanes prior to the final attempt. o For one-and-one and single free throw attempts, all four players may position themselves on the first attempt.


Since MIAA does not mention anything further, we must then revert to NFHS rules:


8-1-4b: The first marked lane spaces on each side of the lane, above and adjacent to the first lane-space, must be occupied by the opponents of the free thrower. No teammate of the free thrower must occupy either of these marked lane spaces.



2020 Refresher test & answers

posted Dec 13, 2020, 7:15 AM by Terry Irish   [ updated Dec 13, 2020, 10:44 AM ]

I moved the refresher test & answers to the Members Only section.

Terry
terryirish12@gmail.com

2020 Refresher Test

posted Nov 29, 2020, 11:47 AM by Terry Irish

Good afternoon,

I hope that everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving celebration. The next Board 175 meeting will be via Zoom on Sunday, Dec 13th at 9:00am. Nick will be sending out a notification along with the Zoom meeting invite. We will be reviewing the 2020 refresher test. I've attached it for you to take the test in advance. I will address all questions at the meeting.

Terry
terryirish12@gmail.com

Teaser questions

posted Nov 24, 2020, 11:28 AM by Terry Irish

Q1. B-5 fouls A-1, who is awarded two free throws. It’s B-5’s fifth foul. The official tells the timer to sound a 15-second warning horn. As the timer sounds a second warning horn, B-6 reports and replaces B-5. After B-6 enters the court, A-6 reports to replace A-5. The closest official to the table denies A-6 from entering the game. Was the official correct?

 

Q2. B-1 establishes a legal guarding position on A-1. As A-1 drives toward the basket and just prior to a collision, B-1 turns away from A-1 and is struck in the back, falling to the floor. The official rules a blocking foul.  Was the official correct?

 

Q3. A-1’s dribble is interrupted when the ball deflects off his leg. A-2 requests a time-out while the ball is loose. The official grants the time-out request.  Was the official correct?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A1. Yes. 3-1-1.

Once the warning signal has sounded 15 seconds before play is to resume, no players can enter the floor that were not at the table. This applies at the end of a quarter, halftime, timeouts, replacement of an injured player or replacing a disqualified playerA-6 reported too late. It helps keep the coaching gamesmanship to a minimum.

 

A2. No. 4-23-3e.

The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.

 

A3. No. 4-15-6c.

Teaser questions

posted Nov 16, 2020, 7:06 AM by Terry Irish

Let's see who was paying attention at the Interpretation meeting yesterday!

Q1. With 2:33 remaining in the 4th quarter, the coach of Team A is assessed a second direct technical and is ejected from the game. The score is Team A - 52, Team B - 66. There is no authorized school personnel available to coach Team A. The referee terminates the game and records the score as a 2-0 win for Team B in the official book.  Is the referee correct?

 

Q2. In the first quarter, the coach of Team B jumps from a seated position and yells at the closest official to “blow your damn whistle”. The official assesses the coach with a technical foul. The coach insists there should be a warning issued prior to a technical foul.  Was the official correct?

 

Q3. At the conclusion of the 4th quarter with score tied, the coach of Team A is assessed with a technical foul. The officials confer and have Team B take 2 foul shots. B-5 misses the first shot, but makes the second shot. Team B wins the game.  Were the officials correct?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A1. No. 5-4-1, 5-4-2.

The game is terminated, but since Team B has the lead, the score remains.

 

A2. Yes. 10-6.

You do not have to give any coach a warning prior to a technical foul.

 

A3. No. 5-6-2 Exception 4.

When the scored is tied at the end of regulation or any overtime period and a technical foul is assessed, administer the foul shots at the start the next period. Only administer the foul shots in the current period, if the score is not tied and the foul shots could determine the result of the game.

2020-21 Interpretation meeting presentation

posted Nov 16, 2020, 6:35 AM by Terry Irish

Good morning,

I appreciate how well attended the meeting was yesterday. I thought it went well under the circumstances. I was going to use DropBox to get you the presentation, but decided to just to attach it here for you to download. As soon as the E-board gets more information on games for the 2020-21 season, we will pass it along.

Stay safe,

Terry
terryirish12@gmail.com

"hold your whistle"

posted Feb 11, 2020, 12:31 PM by Terry Irish

A question came into today about a session I held last year where I encouraged our members to "hold the whistle" before making a call and letting some contact go when there is no clear advantage.

As I recall, most agreed with me, but some did not.

The key for me is “was there an advantage?”.


Examples:


1. A1 drives for a layup and is slightly bumped by B1. (hold your whistle) The shot goes in. No call as there is no advantage.

2. A1 drives for a layup and is slightly bumped by B1. (hold your whistle) The shot DOES NOT go in. Did the bump put A1 at a disadvantage? If yes, call a foul.

3. A1 drives for a layup and B1 makes contact with A1’s arm. (hold your whistle) The shot goes in. No call as there is no advantage.

4. A1 drives for a layup and B1 makes contact with A1’s arm. (hold your whistle) The shot DOES NOT go in. Did the contact put A1 at a disadvantage? If yes, call a foul.

5. A1 drives for a layup. B1 attempt to block the shot, misses but strikes A1 in the head. The shot goes in. Call the foul as A1 was put at a disadvantage with a head blow.

6. A1 drives for a layup. B1 has a legal guarding position, but moves forward colliding with A1 as the ball is released. The shot goes in. Call the foul as A1 was put at a disadvantage with the collision.

7. A1 drives for a layup. B1 jumps straight into the air maintaining verticality. A1 and B1 collide. (hold your whistle) The shot goes in. Either let it go as A1 created the contact or waive off the goal and call a player control foul on A1.

8. A1 picks off a pass from B1 and has an open court to the basket. From the rear B1 swipes at A1 making contact. (hold your whistle) A1 is not phased and continues to the basket. No call as there is no advantage.


It’s all judgement on your part. But remember, when you blow your whistle you may have to explain to a coach or player why. Sometimes it’s just easier to let the play continue.



This could happen at any level game

posted Jan 16, 2020, 6:36 AM by Terry Irish

Scenario from the membership:


1.    A bench technical foul was assessed against an assistant coach for Team A. When reported to the table, the home book girl (who we later learned to be the daughter of the Team A coach) said she wasn't putting the indirect against the head coach into the book because "it was a terrible call." 


2.    Later in the game, there was a foul against a Team A player that the home book girl again hadn't put into the book. My partner and I were certain of this, because the foul had been recently called, and the foul count hadn't changed on the scoreboard. It caused a slight delay in the game while we conferenced with coaches and the visiting book to confirm that the total team fouls for Team A was inaccurate in the home book and accurate in the visiting book.


3.    Towards the end of the game, a visiting player was called for a foul and the home book indicated that it was the player's 5th foul. The visiting book indicated the player only had 4. We defaulted to the home book and removed the player from the game, but had no confidence that the foul count was accurate in the home book, given the previous problems we'd had with her, and her relationship to the home coach.


4.    There was a kid giving color commentary and play by play on a microphone the whole game.  Inappropriate reactions to plays were broadcast. Worst of all, in the last 30 seconds of a 1 point game, there was a hard foul under a basket, and before any information had been reported to the table, the kid announced over the microphone that there had been a foul on the other team. Fortunately he was correct - but we had to have a conversation with him after reporting the foul about how hard it would have been for him to announce something different if what we reported didn't match his announcement.


My partner and I talked after the game and determined that if we had the game to redo, the home book girl would have been dismissed from the scorer's table after refusing to put the indirect technical into the book, and the visiting book would have become the official book for the game.


We also decided that we should have pulled the plug on the kid with the microphone and removed him from the table so that there wasn't any announcement of any kind for the remainder of the game.


Would those have been the right moves? (See my comments below.)


And the Team A A.D. wasn't at the game - just some guy who said he was site administrator for the night. We asked him at halftime to talk with both the home book girl and the kid on the microphone, which he said he had done. But neither improved their behavior in the 2nd half. So I reported all this to the assignor for the game, and he said he'd talk with Team A A.D. today. 


TRI-> Removing the scorekeeper and the announcer would have been the correct moves. All table members are part of your crew and the referee has the authority to make the moves. Rule(s): 2.3, 2.4.1, 2.4.2, 2.4.3


And finally 2.8.1 Note: "In absence of a designated school representative, the home coach shall serve as the host management."

Communicating with Coaches

posted Jan 12, 2020, 4:46 PM by Terry Irish

The John Rafferty presentation from today's meeting is attached.

You make the call ...

posted Dec 27, 2019, 8:02 AM by Terry Irish

This is a play submitted by a 175 member:

 I would like an answer but more importantly I'd like to consult the manual.


"A-Team has the ball in their front court, with A1 standing on the wing with both feet on the floor.

A1 receives a pass, catching it in two hands.

A1 hops to a new spot, lifting both feet off the floor, landing on two feet.

As A1 attempts a try for goal (which is successful), the official blows a violation.

The official calls traveling and waves off the shot."


Is the official correct?


TRI response->


Traveling is covered under Rule 4, Section 44.


The closest ruling to what you’ve described below is Article 1: “A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor may pivot using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.”


So one A-1 jumps, one of the feet becomes the pivot. Once a pivot foot is lifted there are only 3 options: shoot, pass or call time out. When A-1 lands, A1 has travelled as the pivot foot was picked up and put back down. I am sure others may dispute it, but until it’s in the case book it will be questioned.


What is your ruling (with a reference of course)?


Terry

terryirish12@gmail.com


1-10 of 86