IAABO #175 play of the week ...

posted Jan 6, 2017, 6:22 AM by Terry Irish
Q: Team A is in the bonus. While in the act of shooting, A1 is fouled by B1 behind the 3 point line and the ball enters the basket. At the same time the other official indicates that A2 is held by B2 off the ball. The officials huddle and indicate there are multiple fouls on Team B and both A1 and A2 will shoot fouls shots in that order. Where the officials correct?

A: Yes. 4-19-11. A1 would be awarded 1 free throw with no players lined up on the lane. A2 would then be awarded a one-and-one free throw with players on the lane and the game would continue at the conclusion of A2's free throws. If Team A were not in the bonus, A1 would be awarded 1 free throw with no players lined up on the lane and then Team A would be awarded the ball out of bounds nearest to where A2 was fouled. It is imperative that the officials huddle on such a play to ensure they are on the same page, they get the calls right and they can explain to the table and the coaches.

Thanks to Damian Farley for sharing his play of the week ...
Comments