IAABO Play of the Week

posted Feb 7, 2019, 6:02 AM by Terry Irish
http://iaabo.org/1819Play12/index.html


Analysis provided by IAABO:

Early in the play when white #12 is dribbling in the midcourt area, the Center official correctly accepts the ball into his Primary Coverage Area.  At this point in the play, the Center is positioned below the free throw line and should have adjusted his position a couple of steps toward the division line to get an open view between the dribbler and the primary defender. 

As the play develops in the lane area, the center does a very good job identifying the secondary defender Red #2 as he attempts to obtain position.

Red #2 legally places his body in the path of his offensive opponent and obtains legal guarding position before the ball handler; White #12 becomes airborne to pass the ball to an open teammate for a try.  When contact is to the torso of the defender, a charging foul is correctly ruled by the Center official.  

It appears the ball leaves White #12’s hands just before contact ensues on the torso of the defender.   Since White #12 is not holding or dibbling a live ball when this contact occurs, the charging foul he committed is considered a team control foul.

Based on the signals the Center official displayed, it is difficult to discern if the ruling was a player control foul or team control foul. 

When a team control foul occurs, the ruling official should display the stop clock signal, step toward the offender, display the birddog signal (when clarification is needed), then signal the type of foul that occurred. 

In this case, the pushing signal should be displayed to indicate the charging foul.  After the type of foul has been displayed, the ruling official should then display the team control signal and indicate the throw-in spot before heading to the scorer’s table to report. 

It should also be noted, the Lead official does a very good job allowing the center to rule on the crash while he focused on the result of the passing activity and the potential contact situation that could occur on the try.   The direction of the pass dictates coverage on pass/crash plays.  Even though the play was in the Lead’s Primary Coverage Area, The Center had a good view of the play and should rule on the crash.  Since the pass was in the direction of the Lead, he properly stayed with the ball.  Please keep in mind, the pass/crash play should be a topic of discussion for every pre-game conference. 
Comments