Teaser #3: October 30, 2016

posted Nov 21, 2016, 9:31 AM by Tim MacDonald   [ updated Nov 21, 2016, 9:32 AM ]
Questions:

Q1: A1, while dribbling in the frontcourt, has the ball batted away and the ball rolls into the backcourt. The official begins the 10 second count when the ball touches the floor in the backcourt. Was the official correct?

 

Q2: Prior to A-1 releasing the ball on his/her free throw, B1 steps into the lane. The official inadvertently sounds the whistle. The official re-administers the free throw which is unsuccessful. The official allows the play to continue. Was the official correct?

 

Q3: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 reaches through the boundary line and intercepts the ball. The official blows the whistle and indicates a violation on B1.  Was the official correct?

 

Answers:

A1: Yes. Rule 4-12-4 and 9-8. There is still team control during a loose ball. 

 

A2: No. 9-1-3g Penalty 2b. The inadvertent whistle does not negate the violation. When A1 misses the shot, the violation should then be enforced and A1 gets another attempt. If A1 made the attempt, the violation would be ignored.

 

A3: No. 9-2-10. 7-6-4. Once the ball is released by A1, B1 may reach through the plane.

Comments