Teaser question

posted Dec 10, 2018, 8:56 AM by Terry Irish

 

Q1: After A1 releases the ball on a free throw, B1, in a marked lane space, steps into the free-throw lane, steps across the free-throw line and contacts A1 before the ball hits the ring or backboard. The free throw contacts the ring but is unsuccessful. The official rules a violation on Team B and assesses B1 with a personal foul. Was the official correct?

 

Q2: A1 and B1 are involved in a fight on the court. Teammates A6, A7, A8 and B6, B7 and B8 enter the court and participate in the fight. The official ejects all participants and assesses both Team A and Team B head coaches with one indirect technical foul. Was the official correct? What would happen if all the subs entering the court did not participate in the fight?

 

Q3: Jumper A1 taps the ball which is deflected simultaneously by A2 and B2 out-of-bounds before either gains control. The official rules that a jump ball will take place between any 2 opponents. Was the official correct?
















 

A1: Yes. 9-1-3h, 9-1 Penalties 2b. Both the violation and the foul would be assessed.

 

A2: No. 10-8-b (2). Each head coach is assessed one indirect technical for each person leaving the bench and participating in the fight. Each coach would receive 3 indirect technical fouls and be ejected from the contest.

 

A3: No. 6-4-3 Note, 7-3-2. A2 and B2 would be the jumpers.

Comments