Teaser questions

posted Nov 11, 2019, 11:27 AM by Terry Irish

Q1: A-1 catches the ball while in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. A-1 then pivots prior to passing to a teammate. The official rules this a legal play.  Is the official correct?

Q2: During A-1’s interrupted dribble, A-1 fouls B-1. The official rules a player control foul.  Is the official correct?

Q3: B-1 has a legal guarding position on dribbler A-1. A-1 tries to drive around B-1 who is moving sideways and backwards. A-1 contacts B-1 in the torso. The contact results in B-1 falling to the floor. The official rules a player control foul.  Is the official correct?

 

Answers below:

 

 

 

 

 

A1: No. 4-44-2a3. The play was clean until the last pivot. One you execute the “jump stop”, you can no longer pivot.

A2: No. 4-15-6b, 4-19-7. There is team control during an interrupted dribble, but not player control.

A3: Yes. 4-19-6, 4-23-3. Once a legal guarding position is established, the only direction the defender can't move is forward.

 

 

 

Comments