Teaser's of the Week #1

posted Nov 14, 2017, 11:42 AM by Terry Irish   [ updated Nov 20, 2017, 5:32 AM ]
Q1: During a throw-in when B-1 may move along the end line, A-1 intentionally fouls B-2 near the end line. Following the free throws, the official awards the ball back to Team B and rules Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line. Is the official correct?

A1: No. Rule 7-5-4b, 7-5-7b. The intentional fouls and subsequent foul shots negate the privilege of moving along the end line.

Q2: While A-1 is holding the ball, A-1 intentionally fouls B-1. The official rules this a player control foul. Is the official correct?

A2: No. Rule 4-19-6, 4-19-2, 4-19-3. Although A-1 is holding the ball, a player control foul is a common foul.

Q3: Thrower-in A1 holds the ball through the boundary line plane. B-1 fouls A-1. The official charges B-1 with an intentional personal foul. Is the official correct?

A3: Yes. Rule 9-2-10 Penalties 4. Contact with a thrower-in is always an intentional foul. No warning for delay required.
Comments