Teaser's of the Week #2

posted Nov 19, 2017, 12:52 PM by Terry Irish   [ updated Nov 20, 2017, 5:27 AM ]

Q1: A-1 is driving for the basket and as the ball leaves A-1s hand, B-1 intentionally shoves A-1 from behind. The ball enters the basket. The official rules an intentional foul on B-1, counts the goal and awards A-1 one free throw attempt. Was the official correct?

 

A1: No. Rule 4-19-3d, 10-7 Penalty 4. The official should award two free throws for the intentional foul. Sorry if I confused anyone at the Interpretation meeting this morning.

 

Q2: Team A is granted a 60-second (no 30-second time outs in MA). After 20 seconds Team A comes back on the floor ready to resume play. The official informs the Team A coach that a time-out cannot be shortened unless both teams are ready to play. Was the official correct?

 

A2: Yes. Rule 5-11-2.

 

Q3: A-1 has the ball at his/her disposal for an alternating possession throw-in when A-2 fouls B-2. The official charges A-2 with a personal foul and rules Team A retains the possession arrow. Was the official correct?

 

A3: Yes. 6-4-5. Team A would only lose the AP arrow if Team A commits a violation.

Comments