Weekly teasers ...

posted Dec 11, 2016, 10:53 AM by Terry Irish

12/11/16: Teaser questions

 

Q1: Prior to a throw-in on the end line near A’s basket, A1, A2 & A3 line up shoulder-to-shoulder parallel to and within 3 feet of the end line. The captain of Team B requests space between the Team A players. The official instructs Team A to allow space between each player. Was the official correct?

 

Q2: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline, touches Team B’s coach who is standing out of bounds. The official rules this a violation on Team B for touching the ball while out-of-bounds and awards Team A a throw-in at the spot of the violation.  Was the official correct?

 

Q3: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the AP procedure. A1 commits a violation. The official awards Team B the ball at the spot of the violation, but rules that Team A maintains the AP arrow as they did not complete the throw-in. Was the official correct?

 

A1: Yes. 7.6.5 (case book, page 61). Team A will comply with the official’s request or be assessed a technical foul.

 

A2: No. 7.1.1 (case book, page 56). To be out-of-bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues.

 

A3: No. 6.4.5. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. Team B gets the ball and the AP arrow is set in their direction.

Comments