MIAA rules associated with post-game handshake

posted Jan 16, 2018, 6:52 AM by Terry Irish
It was brought to my attention at our last meeting that the MIAA has changed the NFHS rules regarding the final score during/after the post-game handshake.

Here is a summary, but the entire document is attached. The document also gives examples when officials should not stay for the handshake:

IT IS IMPORTANT TO REVIEW TWO rule interpretations which impact the ceremony:

  • NF Basketball Rule 2, Section 5, Article 7 has been adopted, “When the referee either signs the scorebook following the game, or when a non- verbal confirmation is exchanged between the referee and the official scorer, the score is then final and considered approved.” Thus, the post- game handshake will never impact the final score.

  • MIAA Sportsmanship Rule 49.8 states- “Fighting and unsportsmanlike conduct penalties will be within the authority of the official at all times at the contest site. The official’s authority extends to pre and post game oversight.” Implementation of this rule could have future consequences on the offender, but does not affect the final score. 

Ċ
Terry Irish,
Jan 16, 2018, 6:52 AM
Comments